Late Maj Gen Rajendra Nath, PVSM (Retd.),

Major General Rajendra Nath PVSM (Retd.) was commissioned from IMA Dehradun on 21st December 1947 into 11 Gorkha Rifles. He attended two years Canadian Army Staff College Course i.e. from 1959 – 1961. He was instructor in well- known Defence Services Staff College (DSSC) for three years, from 1965 – 1968. He commanded 10 Infantry Division in J&K, was Chief of Staff of a Corps and later was Commandant Indian Military Academy which is a prestigious institution. He retired in 1982. He has been decorated with Param Vashisht Seva Medal (PVSM) and Mentioned in Dispatches. He is a writer on military and Defence affairs and has written a number of books. He writes regularly on subjects of Defence and national security in newspapers. Besides his love for matters military, the officer has taken keen interest in social work. He is Chairman of Institute for the Blind since 1982. He is also President of two other Social organisations in the city beautiful. The Chandigarh Administration has Honoured him with a Medal and Certificate for good social work during the years 1994 and 2017. He was awarded ‘Haryana Ratan’ in the year 2005 by the Hon’ble Governor of Haryana for good Social Work. Still in this mature age, he is bubbling with life and energy. He looks after the functioning of this organisation. During his long sincere and selfless service to the organisation, the Institute has become a vibrant centre of learning and vocational training for the visually handicapped in the whole of the northern region. He has dedicated his whole life in the service of the blind. His name has become synonymous with divine messenger for the service of the blind. His patronage and message – ‘Help the Blind’ inspires all the concerned to serve for the noble cause with full dedication and missionary spirit. After serving the Institute For Blind for 38 long years he finally decided to resign in May 2019 due to his failing health and Covid-19 pandemic.

Dinesh Kumar Kapila, Senior Vice-President-cum-Chairman

Dinesh Kumar Kapila has Masters in Personnel Management with a diploma in social work..He retired as Chief General Manager / State Head HP from NABARD in 2021. He oversaw a large range of functions across refinancing, infrastructure financing to State Governments, direct financing to State Owned Corporations, Supervision of Cooperative and Gramin Banks, Credit and Potential Planning for the State, development functions across financial inclusion, micro credit, farm and off farm development, skill development, institutional development, evaluation of projects, supervision of the Consulting Subsidiary etc. formed part of his expertise.He is a Certified Associate of Indian Institute of Bankers . He is son of our Founding Father , Maj Gen Rajendra Nath. He joined the Society as Standing Committee and Executive Committee Member in March 2022.

Mrs. Kanwaljit Kaur (Roma Singh), Vice-President

She is a graduate and a renowned Social Worker. She received President ‘s award of , Stree Shakti In 2011.on International Women’s Day .In addition she has been given State Award for Social Work by Governor of Punjab and UT Administrator on 15th August. She is Serving as Honorary Director of Nari Niketan Chandigarh .Besides, she is associated with following organisations. (a) Member of Monitoring Committee for” Shelter Home “Sector 43 Chandigarh. (b) Member of Monitoring Committee for “Ashiana “Sector 15 Chandigarh.

Suparna Sachdev, Honorary Secretary

Suparna Sachdev (Honorary Secretary) has been associated with this Society since 1997 as Social Worker. She has elected Honorary Secretary and joined this organization on 25th January 2024. She is a very dedicated and social personality.

Mrs. Aneeta Jayara, Joint Secretary

Mrs. Aneeta Jayara is a highly educated personality and social worker. After putting in more than 25 years of social service to this oranization she has recently elected as Joint Secretary. She has done a lot for the betterment of visually handicapped specially in providing facilities for the students of girls hostel.

Sh Jeewan Rai Chodha, Exec. Member (Finance)

Mr. Jeevan Rai Chodha is Law Graduate and is a resident of Chandigarh. He has rich administrative experience in the Industry and is General Manager with Bhushan Power and Steel Ltd. for the last about three decades. Mr. Chodha has been instrumental in making Bhushan Power & Steel Ltd. as one of our regular donors. He takes keen interest in social work and is associated with this Institute for about two decades. He has recently been appointed as a regular member of the Standing Committee, which looks after day-to-day functioning of the Institute and Society. The Society will always remain grateful to Mrs Sadawanti Sethi, Sh. Lajpat Rai Chopra and S Gurnam Singh for their contribution in the development and progress of this organisation.

Mrs. Saroj Mehta, Executive Member

Mrs. Saroj Mehta has been associated with this organisation as a Life Member since 1992. An advocate by profession, she is a prominent Social Worker. She plays a major role in the overall development of this organisation. Presently, she is a member of the Executive Committee of the Society and is also a member of the Standing Committee, which looks after the day-to-day affairs of the Society and the Institute.

Mrs. Gursharanjit Kaur, Principal

Visually impaired students, just like their sighted peers, have the potential to achieve great things if given the right tools and opportunities. Advancements in technology have made it easier for visually impaired students to access information. By creating a supportive and inclusive environment for visually impaired students, our school not only provides them with the tools and resources they need to succeed academically but also sends a powerful message to the rest of society. We show that disability is not a barrier to success and that everyone, regardless of their abilities, deserves to be treated with respect and dignity. Thanks to Louis Braille and his groundbreaking invention of Braille, visually impaired individuals are able to navigate the world with confidence and independence. The Braille system has given them the tools they need to succeed in school, work, and everyday life.

Rahul Mahajan, Executive Member

He is a graduate with a course in protected cultivation .He is a keen environmentalist known as "tree man of Chandigarh ". Mr Mahajan is well known for saving old trees. He protects trees from termites and other diseases and is the founder of organic sharing foundation, an NGO working for plantation and organic farming in various schools of Chandigarh and Punjab.He has records mentioned in Limca Book of records in his name. He is involved in organic farming & spreading its awareness . He joined as member of the Standing & Executive Committees of the Society in 2018.

The Society for the Care of the Blind is run by an Executive Committee comprising 38 members under the Chairmanship of Adviser to the Administrator U.T. Chandigarh Administration. Amongst others Home Secretary Chandigarh Administration, Deputy Commissioner Chandigarh, Directors Social Welfare, Health Services and Education Deptt. are its prominent members. The affairs of the Institute are looked after by a Managing Committee headed by Chairman of the Institute and Senior Vice-President of ‘Society for the Care of the Blind’, who is assisted by the Standing Committee.